Here is an easy question. Where can I find unbiased comparisons and opinions of metal detectors?

I have read everything from the speculation "Garrett detectors have not changed" to the probable lie "I bought a $59 Radio Shack (Bounty Hunter) and walk behind a person with a $2K White's and found the coins he missed"

Myself, I am new to metal detecting and thought I would find good information amoung the many prospecting websites and forums. I eventually came to the conclusion that there seems to be only opinions between the detector enthusiest, meaning whatever detector that person owned was the best make and model.

Newbie,

For an honest evaluation on the various metal detectors for nugget hunting check out akmining.com and search for Metal Detecting and then for Nugget Detector Opinions. Hope this helps.